Skip to content »


All Lisle Library's Reference Databases are available from within the library. Many databases are available remotely. To view databases grouped by subject, click here. For an alphabetical listing, see below.

America the Beautiful:  Timeline of United States history, biographies of all American presidents, information about Native American Indian tribes, articles about famous U.S. cities,  natural wonders, and historical sites....facts about state government, economy, education, population and symbols.

Ancestry Library Edition. Research tool providing access to more than 1.5 billion names in over 4000 databases including U.S. federal census; military records; court, land & probate records; vital and church records; directories; passenger lists and more.

Antiques Reference P4A [Prices for Antiques]: One of the web's best sources for learning about and valuing antiques, collectibles and fine art. The P4A reference database provides this information on hundreds of thousands of items, updated daily. P4A does not sell or buy any merchandise.  All items seen on the site have been sold. The information in the database includes data from over 140 U.S. auction houses.  It is an independent reporting service for appraisers, auctioneers, museums, dealers, collectors and the general public.

Biography in Context:  Full-text articles from hundreds of by date, ethnicity, occupation as well as name.

Book Flix:  An online literacy resource to help build a love of reading and learning in children.

Brainfuse: The online learning tool that offers a unique blend of one-to-one homework help, state-aligned skills building, test preparation, and writing assistance. Live online help from expert tutors is available every day from 2:00 pm until 11:00 pm.

Business Insights: Global: A fully integrated resource bringing together company profiles, brand information, rankings, investment reports, company histories, chronologies and periodicals. Search this database to find detailed company and industry news and information.

Chilton Library:  Detailed repair information on thousands of cars, trucks, vans and SUVs (domestic + import): Step-by-step service instructions, close-up photographs and illustrations, troubleshooting and diagnostics.  Dynamic search engine.

Consumer Health Complete: Provides content covering all areas of health and wellness from mainstream medicine to the many perspectives of complementary, holistic and integrated medicine.

Consumer Reports: Provides ratings and reviews, recommendations and buying advice for thousands of products and services. Users will find in-depth advice, tips and trends written by experts with frequently updated articles, blogs and video content.

Demographics Now: Connects users with a wealth of highly detailed demographic data that spans the entire United States--making it ideal for gaining consumer and market insight for opening a business, finding an untapped audience for products/services, analyzing the shifts and needs of a given population, and much more.

Encyclopedia Americana:  A general reference database for upper elementary and junior high school students.

Gale Courses: Six-week courses are taught by college instructors and experts in the field, ensuring a high-quality, high-impact educational experience for all ages. Course topics include:  professional development, technology skills, and personal enrichment.

Gale Virtual Reference:  A database of digital e-books/encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research. Subjects covered include Arts, Biography, Business, Education, Environment, History, Law, Literature, Medicine, Multicultural Studies, Nation and World, Religion, Science, and Social Science.

General One File (Infotrack): The ultimate periodical resource, with more than 8,000 titles (most in full text with no embargo) -- with reference, newspaper, and audio content. Millions of articles available in both PDF and HTML full-text.

Grolier Multimedia Encyclopedia:  A general reference database of multimedia content for upper elementary and junior high school students

Health and Wellness Resource Center:  A comprehensive resource for libraries, schools, and hospitals that provides integrated access to medical, health, and wellness information through an intuitive Web interface.

Heritage Quest:  Resource for census data, family records and local histories. It assembles every extant U.S. federal census, banking & military records, genealogies, local histories, primary source materials, and genealogical & local history serials.

Job & Career Accelerator: The most comprehensive and easy-to-use job search application on the market. It integrates everything a patron needs to conduct a successful job search. Interactive wizards guide you through each step of the search process, from recommending occupations to fetching up-to-the-minute job postings that are based on each user's career preferences. In addition, users will have access to tools such as the resume and cover letter builders, interview course and expert advice to help make the job search more effective.

Lands and Peoples: Atlas, Almanac, Maps, comparison of cultures, and international news.

LearningExpressLibrary: Find unlimited access to practice tests based on official exams, including ACT, SAT, GED, ASVAB, Firefighter, Citizenship and real estate.
NOTE: For home access your LLD barcode is your username and you may create your own password.

LegalForms IL: A comprehensive look at various types of Illinois legal documents. Create accurate, reliable legal documents with no hassle or stress, complete with Law Digest module. It offers the most robust collection of accessible legal information available. A leading online learning resource that can help you learn business, software, technology and creative skills to achieve personal and professional goals; taught by recognized industry experts. Access the video library of engaging courses such as: Photoshop, Illustrator, PHP, Excel, Wordpress, FinalCutPro, MySQL, Cryptography, AutoCAD, Google Analytics and more!

MasterFILE Premier: Full text for magazines, reference books, and primary source documents. This database also provides an Image Collection containing photos, maps & flags.

Miss Humblebee's Academy: A fun, interactive, and award-winning, online kindergarten-readiness learning solution for children ages 3 to 6. With hundreds of lessons in Math, Science and Social Studies, Language and Literacy, Art, and Music. 

MorningStar Online: An all-inclusive investment research database featuring data and analysis of more than 15,000 international and domestic stocks, 25,000 mutual funds, and 1,500 exchange-traded funds. Plus, the database boasts a comprehensive Help and Education Center, Portfolio X-Ray and robust screening tools.

MyState: Find all of the information needed to complete a successful state project! Provides detailed facts and figures for each of the 50 United States. Also includes images such as state maps, flags and animals. For students ages 5-10.

New Book of Popular Science Online:  Animal world, astronomy and space, biology, chemistry, earth science, energy, environment, human life, mathematics, physics, plant world, technology.

Newspaper Source: provides cover-to-cover full text for more than 40 national (U.S.) and international newspapers. The database also contains full text for more than 300 regional (U.S.) newspapers.

Novelist K-8:  Youth fiction about a specific topic, new books similar to your favorites, or discover something surprising about an author.

Novelist Plus: Your guide to Fiction -- Besides locating books to read, users can learn more about books and authors through Feature Articles, Book Discussion Guides, and BookTalks. These features have been developed specifically with NoveList users in mind, offering support for librarians, teachers, and individual readers

OCLC First Search:  A family of 13 databases including WorldCat, ArticleFirst, ERIC, ECO and others

Public Record: Access information gathered through Illinois counties, the state of Illinois and federal government record sources.

Reference USA: Find business and residential data using location, industry code, volume of revenue and number of employees as search criteria.

Science Reference Center: Full text for hundreds of science encyclopedias, reference books, and periodicals -- including: biology, chemistry, earth and space science, environmental science, health and medicine, life science, mathematics, physics, science and society, science as inquiry, scientists, technology, and wildlife

Transparent Language Online (formerly BYKI): A powerful new online language-learning system designed specifically for use by the patrons of public libraries. Available for learning over 80 languages.

Tumblebooks: Provides access to hundreds of books, non-fiction and fiction, that are read aloud to the user as they follow along on screen. Books cover a broad range of topics and many titles offer quizzes to test comprehension after reading. Books target readers between the ages of 3 and 10. 

Zinio: The Library’s online magazines subscription, provides a quick and easy way for LLD resident cardholders to read digital copies of their favorite magazines. Access Zinio via your PC/Mac or smart device using the The Zinio Reader App. Displays are page-for-page, including photos and audio/video enhancements.

Databases Arranged by SUBJECT:





Business & Associations

Career Resources

Consumer Ratings








Public Information



777 Front Street Lisle, IL 60532 | Phone: 630-971-1675 | Fax: 630-971-1701 | Hours: M-F 9:30am-9:00pm, SAT 9:30am-5:00pm, SUN 1:00pm-5:00pm