Skip to content »

Murder Among Friends

Lefty and Edgar Mystery Awards Winners Announced!

Lefty & Edgar 2021 Winners graphic

Two of this year's major mystery awards have been chosen: the Lefty awards given by the popular Left Coast Crime convention and the Edgar awards, given by the writer members of the Mystery Writers of America (MWA).

Left Coast Crime is an annual mystery convention sponsored by mystery fans, both readers and authors. LCC is held during the first quarter of the year in Western North America. Conventions have been held from Anchorage to El Paso, from Boulder to Hawaii, and various locations in between. The Edgars are based in New York City where the ceremony is held annually. The winners and their categories are listed below for both of these awards. 

Please check out our blog posts about the Lefty Award Nominees and the Edgar Award Nominees to find the other great mystery reads from 2020. There are links to the books in our catalog if you click on the book's cover graphic. The Nominee lists also have this feature.

Winter Counts  Best Debut Mystery Novel – Winter Counts by David Heska Wanbli Weska

The Tuning Point by Catriona McPherson  Bruce Alexander Memorial Award, Best Historical Mystery Novel for a mystery covering events before 1970 – The Turning Tide by Catriona McPherson

Murder in the Bayou by Ellen Byron  Best Humorous Mystery Novel – Mystery in the Bayou Boneyard by Ellen Byron

All the Devils Are Here by Louise Penny  Best Mystery Novel – All the Devils Are Here by Louise Penny


border separation

Edgar Awards graphic

Best  Novel

Djinn Patrol book cover  Deepa Anaparra , Djinn Patrol on the Purple Line (Penguin Random House – Random House)


Best First Novel

Please See Us book cover  Caitlin Mullen, Please See Us (Simon & Schuster – Gallery Books)


Best Paperback Original

When No One Is Watching book cover  Alyssa Cole When No One is Watching (HarperCollins Publishers - William Morrow)


Best Critical/Biographical

Phantom Lady book cover  Phantom Lady: Hollywood Producer Joan Harrison, the Forgotten Woman Behind Hitchcock

by Christina Lane (Chicago Review Press) 


Mary Higgins Clark Award winner

Catalog link to Cabinets of Barnaby Mayne  The Cabinets of Barnaby Mayne by Elsa Hart  (Minotaur Books)



Add new comment

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.
This question is for testing whether or not you are a human visitor and to prevent automated spam submissions.

777 Front Street Lisle, IL 60532 | Phone: 630-971-1675 | Fax: 630-971-1701 | Hours: M-F 9:30am-9:00pm, SAT 9:30am-5:00pm, SUN 1:00pm-5:00pm